COOKIES ON Westmeath Examiner

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Westmeath Examiner website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.


Town down Ballinahown to scoop Division 1 crown

Story by Paul Hughes

Sunday, 16th March, 2014 7:45pm

Town down Ballinahown to scoop Division 1 crown

Mullingar Town captain Martin Coyne, with the CCFL Division 1 trophy, Mullingar Town chairman Martin Moore (left) and manager Leroy Rhodes (right). PHOTO: JOHN MCCAULEY

Mullingar Town have clinched the CCFL Division 1 title after a 50th minute goal from prolific striker, Michael Fadian, edged Ballinahown in D'Alton Park today.

The long-awaited title win has been on the cards since January, but a combination of bad weather and cup fixtures delayed the Mullingar side's moment of glory until this (St Patrick's) weekend.

On the day, the one-goal margin flattered visitors Ballinahown, who were outplayed for large periods of the game. The home side squandered numerous gilt-edged chances and narrowly avoided conceding a Ballinahown equaliser in the dying moments.

As well as securing some deserved silverware, the result means that Mullingar Town return to the Premier Division at the first time of asking.

"We're delighted with the win. It's been hard work but thankfully we got there in the end," Town boss Leroy Rhodes said earlier today.

"The club has been in the doldrums for a long time, and it's very pleasing for everyone involved to have won the title.

"We still have two trophies left to play for and we will be looking to do well in both of those. We have a local derby coming up at the weekend against Grange, and that's sure to be a good game.

"But for now, we'll enjoy this success. The club deserves it, and I am so happy we have bounced back to the Premier Division at the first time of asking."

Mullingar Town
Colm Baker, Nigel Graham, Mark Brady, Shane Kavanagh, Jason Charles, Darragh Daly, James Nevin, Martin Coyne (capt.), Stephen Daly, Michael Fadian, Stephen Fadian. Subs used: Matrin Charles for Brady (inj., 24), Michael Grimes for Nevin (74), Michael Loran for Grimes (inj., 79), Ethan Scally for S Daly and John Nevin for S Fadian (both 89).

Post a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus