Aonghus Clarke has made the cut for the GAA/GPA 2020 Joe McDonagh Cup Team of the Year. Photo: David Fitzgerald/Sportsfile

Clarke selected for McDonagh Cup team of the year

Castletown Geoghegan hurler Aonghus Clarke has been selected for the GAA/GPA 2020 Joe McDonagh Cup team of the year.

The versatile Clarke, a mainstay for club and county in recent years, is the only Lake County player on the chosen fifteen.

McDonagh Cup winners Antrim led the way with seven players included in the line-up, with one of their number, prolific forward Conor McCann, named as the tournament’s player of the year.

Clarke was named at centre half back, where he featured for Shane O’Brien’s charges early in the campaign. After a poor run of results, Clarke subsequently featured at centre forward for the Maroons, firing 0-9 and 0-13 respectively as they bounced back to beat Meath and Carlow.

The selection process for the GAA/GPA 2020 Joe McDonagh Cup Champion 15 included player and coach feedback and was finalised by an independent selection committee of journalists and referees.

Uachtarán CLG, John Horan, praised all those who were honoured.

He said: “These awards give us an opportunity to salute the outstanding performers in what was an excellent Joe McDonagh Cup competition. My congratulations to all of those who have been selected and on behalf of the wider Association thank them for the effort they produced in such difficult circumstances in 2020.”

GPA CEO, Paul Flynn, added: “Congratulations to the 15 players who have been selected for the Joe McDonagh Cup Team of the Year.

“Your performances marked you out as the best among many outstanding performers in 2020.

“Congratulations too, to Conor McCann on his fully merited awards. I also want to take this opportunity to thank all the players who competed in the Joe McDonagh Cup last year.

“The lift you helped give to your counties and to the country in very challenging times should not be forgotten.”

A special programme to honour the GAA/GPA 2020 Joe McDonagh Team of the Year will be featured on RTÉ 2fm’s Game On programme this Wednesday evening from 6pm.

GAA/GPA 2020 Joe McDonagh Cup Team of the Year

1. Brian Tracey (Carlow)

2. Tomás O’Connor (Kerry)

3. Matthew Donnelly (Antrim)

4. Stephen Rooney (Antrim)

5. Jason Diggins (Kerry)

6. Aonghus Clarke (Westmeath)

7. Ger Walsh (Antrim)

8. Shane Nolan (Kerry)

9. Keelan Molloy (Antrim)

10. Niall McKenna (Antrim)

11. Shane Conway (Kerry)

12. Daniel Collins (Kerry)

13. Chris Nolan (Carlow)

14. Conor McCann (Antrim)

15. Ciaran Clarke (Antrim)

More from this Topic