David Kilcoyne in action for Westmeath during the early 1990s. This and other pictures can be found at http://www.westmeathexaminer.ie/photostore/

Westmeath hurling legend David Kilcoyne to get Croke Park honour

Westmeath's only hurling All-Star, Ringtown legend David Kilcoyne, is one of 15 hurling stars from the 1980s who will be honoured at Croke Park on All-Ireland senior hurling final day this year.

Breaking from its usual half time tradition, the GAA will honour 15 outstanding hurlers - including Clare legend, Ger Loughnane - who missed out on an All-Ireland winners' medal during the 1980s.

Kilcoyne, who won an All-Star for his exploits with Westmeath in 1986, will be recognised at half time during the September All-Ireland SHC decider between Cork and Clare.

One of the county's greatest ever hurling forwards, Kilcoyne won All-Ireland senior 'B' hurling championship medals in 1985 and 1911, and a Walsh Cup in 1982. He also won two county titles with Ringtown (1980 and 1987).

“Legions of top quality players grace Croke Park with their skills, but not all are rewarded for their efforts with All-Ireland medals,” said GAA president Liam O’Neill.

“This should in no way diminish their contribution to the game of hurling.”

The "best of the rest" XV is as follows: Tommy Quaid (Limerick/Feoghenagh, RIP); John Gavin (Waterford/Portlaw), Leonard Enright (Limerick/Patrickswell), Dessie Donnelly, (Antrim/Ballycastle); Ger Loughnane (Clare/Feakle), Sean Stack (Clare/Sixmilebridge), Terence McNaughton (Antrim/Cushendall); Mossy Walsh (Waterford/Ballyduff), Pat Critchley (Laois/Portlaoise); John Callinan (Clare/Clarecastle), Martin Quigley (Wexford/Rathnure), Paddy Kelly (Limerick/Kilmallock); David Kilcoyne (Westmeath/Ringtown), PJ Cuddy (Laois/Camross), Jim Greene (Waterford/Mount Sion).