Nine Soaring Star nominations for All-Ireland champions Westmeath

All-Ireland Intermediate champions Westmeath lead the nominations for this year’s Camogie Soaring Stars Awards, sponsored by Liberty Insurance.

The 36 nominees for these awards are drawn from across the Intermediate and Premier Junior grades with awards being presented to the 15 most outstanding players from this year’s Championships. The 15 recipients will be announced at the Camogie All-Stars Awards banquet, sponsored by Liberty Insurance at Citywest Hotel on Saturday October 19.

Westmeath received nine nominations. Amongst their nominees are goalkeeper Fiona Keating (Cullion) and defenders Laura Doherty (Raharney), Fiona Leavy (Raharney) and Méadbh Scally (Clonkill).

Midfielder Muireann Scally (Crookedwood) is joined on the list by forwards Megan Dowdall (Clonkill), Pamela Greville (Raharney), captain Mairéad McCormack (Castletown-Geoghegan) and Sheila McGrath (St Munna’s).

The 2019 Camogie All-Stars team will also be announced on the night, as will the Manager of the Year Award. Nominees for the Camogie Association/WGPA Senior, Intermediate and Junior Players’ Player of the Year Awards sponsored by Liberty Insurance will be announced in the coming weeks.

Team manager Johnny Greville has also been nominated as manager of the year, along with Galway’s Cathal Murray and Kerry’s Ian Brick.

Camogie Soaring Stars Awards 2019 sponsored by Liberty Insurance, nominees list:

Goalkeepers: Laura Glynn (Galway), Fiona Keating (Westmeath), Leah O’Carroll (Limerick).

Full-back Line: Eva Butler (Limerick), Áine Crowley (Cork), Laura Doherty (Westmeath), Nicole Kelly (Down), Meadbh Scally (Westmeath), Laura Shinners (Tipperary), Laura Ward (Galway).

Half-back Line: Ciara Donohue (Galway), Dervla Higgins (Galway), Sabrina Larkin (Tipperary), Fiona Leavy (Westmeath), Kate Screene (Galway), Karen McMullan (Down), Sara Murphy (Kerry).

Midfield: Patrice Diggin (Kerry), Katie McAleese (Antrim), Áine McAllister (Derry), Hannah Scott (Kilkenny), Muireann Scally (Westmeath).

Half-forward Line: Megan Dowdall (Westmeath), Ava Lynskey (Galway), Kate Nolan (Kilkenny), Rebecca Noonan (Limerick), Mairéad McCormack (Westmeath), Sheila McGrath (Westmeath), Gráinne McNicholl (Derry).

Full-forward Line: Pamela Greville (Westmeath), Andrea Loughnane (Tipperary), Niamh Mallon (Down), Sorcha McCartan (Down), Gráinne McGoldrick (Derry), Clodagh McIntyre (Tipperary), Tara Rutledge (Galway).

More from this Topic