Teams learn fate as LGFA reveals league divisions

Westmeath have been pitted with Galway, Mayo and Donegal in Division 1A of the 2021 Lidl Ladies National Football League.

It looks like a very tough division for Westmeath. Galway reached last year's All-Ireland senior semi-finals and the final the year before.

Mayo will be looking to become a major force again under new manager Michael Moyles, who has succeeded Westmeath native Peter Leahy. For their part, Donegal won the last three Ulster senior championships played (2017 to 2019), with the provincial championships not played in 2020.

Westmeath overcame Roscommon in last year's All-Ireland intermediate semi-final, before losing out to Meath in the final

Roscommon will compete in Division 3A of the 2021 NFL alongside Down, Sligo and Fermanagh, with the league due to get underway on May 23.

The Rossies are now managed by former Mayo star Diane O'Hora, while Sean Finnegan remains in charge of Westmeath.

Meanwhile, 2020 All-Ireland senior finalists Dublin and Cork will meet in Division 1B.

Dublin defeated Cork last December to claim a fourth straight All-Ireland Senior crown – but Cork are the reigning Division 1 League champions, having won the title in 2019, while the competition was not completed in 2020 due to the Covid-19 outbreak.

Cork and Dublin will be joined by Munster rivals Tipperary and Waterford in Division 1B.

In Division 2A, All-Ireland intermediate champions Meath will be joined by Clare, Kerry, and Wexford, while Armagh, Cavan, Monaghan and Tyrone feature in an all-Ulster Division 2B.

There are four counties in each group, with the exception of a three-team Division 4B, which contains Carlow, Offaly and Limerick.

The divisions have been comprised in regional fashion to minimise travelling for the competing teams, and to help ensure the health and safety of all counties.

Three rounds of group fixtures will be played on consecutive weekends, with the semi-finals scheduled for June 13.

There will then follow a two-week break before the Lidl National League Finals are played on June 27.

Confirmation of initial details for the 2021 Lidl National Leagues follow the recent Government announcement that inter-county training can resume from April 19, for ‘sanctioned and organised adult inter-county national Gaelic games leagues’.

The fixtures for the 2021 Lidl National Leagues have yet to be released.

Division 1A

Galway, Mayo, Donegal, Westmeath.

Division 1B

Cork, Dublin, Tipperary, Waterford.

Division 2A

Kerry, Meath, Wexford, Clare.

Division 2B

Tyrone, Monaghan, Armagh, Cavan.

Division 3A

Down, Roscommon, Sligo, Fermanagh.

Division 3B

Kildare, Laois, Longford, Wicklow.

Division 4A

Louth, Leitrim, Antrim, Derry.

Division 4B

Carlow, Offaly, Limerick.

Proposed Dates

Round 1 - 23rd May

Round 2 - 30th May

Round 3 - 6th June (bank holiday weekend)

Semi-finals - 13th June

Finals - 27th June

*Dates are set for a Sunday but may be played midweek or Saturday by agreement with both counties.