Emerald Lakes dancers bring all-Ireland titles home to Rochfortbridge

Rochfortbridge was celebrating last week, after Blaithin Stenson of the Emerald Lakes Academy was crowned 2022 All Ireland Champion at the WIDA All Ireland Championships held at the Victory Centre at the Church of Scientology in Tallaght, Dublin.

Blaithin Stenson.

Blaithin competed in the U16 Open Championship against stiff opposition from competitors from all over Ireland, Scotland, Germany and the USA.

The WIDA All Ireland 2022 was a special event as it was the first All Ireland to be held post-Covid.

Emerald Lakes Team dancers excelled on stage on both days and took great wins in 2 hands and 3 hands.

Their U17 Ceili Championship Team made a cautious return to the stage, but Makayla Kennedy, Neabhae McDermott, Alba Trigo-Lyster, Brianna Fitzgerald, Katie Martin, Zofia Bielicka, Blaithin Stenson and Amy Devaney stepped it out with the 8 Hand Jig and took fifth place.

Almost 40 members of the Emerald Lakes Academy of Irish Dance and TTC Group were present at the Dublin venue and their victories included U9 dancer Marco Trigo-Lyster in the Primary Premiership.

Martina Scully took the Premiership in the Adult Section title.

Rachel Doyle continued her winning streak in the Open Championship Adult section as she became national, world and all-Ireland champion after a series of historic back to back wins.

The Emerald Lakes Academy of Irish Dance and TTC Group under the leadership of Kevin Lyster and his team including Philip Hynes, Marilyn Loran, Ciara Doyle and Rachel Doyle have again impressed on the national stage for Westmeath, ensuring the county remains a centre point for traditional, team and theatrical Irish dance.

Well done and congratulations to all at Emerald Lakes for bringing so much joy and positivity to the region.

The dancers

Bradley, Chloe

Brogan, Ryan

Clear, Chloe

Cully, Melissa

Rachel Doyle

Devaney, Amy

Haugh, Sophie

Jones, Mary

Keating, Maria

Kennedy, Makayla

Long, Ella

Martin, Holly

Martin, Katie

McDermott, Neabhae

Morris, Isabelle

Murray, Emily

Nea, Molly

Page, Evelyn

Palmer, Amelia

Pierce, Emma

Pierce, Louise

Quinn, Aoife

Scully, Aisling

Scully, Martina

Trigo-Lyster, Alba

Trigo-Lyster, Leila

Trigo-Lyster, Luca

Maddison McGauran

Zofia Bielicka

Blaithin Stenson

Brianna Fitzgerald

Clodagh Wakefield

Eimear Wakefield

Diana Wakefield

Holly Walshe

Faith Ward

Lorna Ward

Deirdre McCormack

Aoife McCormack