The Clonmellon NS camogie side, winners of the Division 2 Cumann na mBunscol title.

Brace for Bray as Clonmellon win tight game

Clonmellon NS 4-6 Diarmada NS, Whitehall 4-3


The opening game of this year’s four-day Cumann na mBunscol Gaelic games festival in TEG Cusack Park proved to be a very entertaining contest between two evenly-matched sides.

Clonmellon scored an unanswered 1-2 in the opening 12 minutes of the 20-minute half, the goal coming from a speculative shot from the outstanding Mylah Carolan after just 75 seconds, with the ensuing points from the sticks of Caoilfhinn Bray (a great score) and Ellen Bray (despite being pressurised). A close-range goal by Evie Monahan in the last action of the first half gave the Whitehall girls a great lift, but they still trailed by 1-2 to 1-0 at the interval.

Ellen Bray kicked a goal for Clonmellon exactly a minute after play resumed, but 1-1 from Hannah Mulvey had Whitehall just a point in arrears some five minutes later. A Melissa Clarke goal, and points from Carolan (two, including a free), Ellen Bray, and Clarke followed at the other end. Grace Goldrick’s dipping goal, and a point from Mulvey left the gap at four points (3-6 to 3-2) with a minute of normal time remaining. A bundled goal from Ellen Bray sealed victory for Clonmellon, despite an injury-time point (via Goldrick) and goal (courtesy of Mary-Kate Fagan, with time almost up). After the match, Cumann na mBunscol chairman, Derek Butler presented the trophy to the winning captains, Amy Beggan and Caoilfhinn Bray.

Scorers – Clonmellon: E Bray 2-2, M Carolan 1-2 (0-1f), M Clarke 1-1, C Bray 0-1. Whitehall: H Mulvey 1-2, G Goldrick 1-1, MK Fagan, E Monahan 1-0 each.

Clonmellon NS panel: Kim Beggan, Caoilfhinn Bray, Katie Rennicks, Maisie Reilly, Daisy Mulvaney, Amy Beggan, Mylah Carolan, Molly McNeice, Ellen Bray, Emer Casserly, Melissa Clarke, Shauna Brady, Louisa Scully, Ellie Smith, Isabelle O’Keeffe, Alexa Fay, Aoife Hand, Lucy Mulvany, Katie Hendricks.

Diarmada NS, Whitehall panel: Teagan Rooney, Mary-Kate Fagan, Taylor O’Grady, Rachel Bruton, Alannah Galligan, Kerys Brady, Grace Goldrick, Hanna Mulvey, Grace O’Boyle, Amy Hardman, Aoife Granahan, Evie Monahan, Ruby Ralph, Lily Moran, Caoimhe Murphy, Bláthnaid Murphy, Jade Hardman, Gaelyn Blake, Sacha Pakenham, Olivia Burton.

Ref: Jimmy Weldon (Lough Lene Gaels).