Keira Gawkowska of St. Joseph’s in possession of the ball in the Cumann na mBunscol Division 1 camogie final against St Mary’s NS, Collinstown.

McCormack and Lawlor excel in entertaining final

Scoil Mhuire, Collinstown 7-5 St Joseph's NS, Rathwire 1-9


The brilliant individual performances of Sionainn McCormack (Collinstown) and Muireann Lawlor (Rathwire) stood out in this camogie final at TEG Cusack Park last Monday week.

While there were several other fine players on view for both sides, this game effectively amounted to a shootout between the aforementioned duo. However, McCormack’s huge haul was goal-dominated, while Lawlor had to be content with points.

Ironically, Abbie Harte opened the scoring for Collinstown with a third-minute goal. McCormack tagged on the remainder of her side’s haul in the first half – a brace of ‘35’s and a superb individual goal in the 11th minute. For her part, Lawlor fired over all of Rathwire’s six points, including one ‘35’. Collinstown led by 2-2 to 0-6 at the interval. Apart from Hannah Dunne’s late opportunist goal for Rathwire, it was McCormack and Lawlor who did all the scoring in the second moiety. McCormack added 5-3 to her tally, and all of her goals were taken with aplomb. Her hat-trick of points was evenly divided between open play, a ‘35’, and a late free. Lawlor tagged on three more points, two of them from frees.

After the match, Cumann na mBunscol chairman, Derek Butler presented the trophy to the winning captains, Sionainn McCormack and Aideen Kavanagh.

Scorers – Collinstown: S McCormack 6-5 (0-3 ‘35’, 0-1f), A Harte 1-0. Rathwire: M Lawlor 0-9 (0-2f, 0-1 ‘35’), H Dunne 1-0.

Scoil Mhuire, Collinstown panel: Emma Williams, Sophie Bartley, Kiera Coplen, Katie Maxwell, Róisín O’Neill, Sarah-Louise Murtagh, Aideen Kavanagh, Emily Cogan, Sionainn McCormack, Abbie Harte, Asia Van Boxtell, Ci Ci Mulcahy, Caireann Molloy, Jessica Nolan, Hollie Farrelly, Ava Williams, Aoibhínn Murtagh, Lily McDermott, Ríona Devine, Brona Brennan, Andie Griffith, Lyra Allen, Tara Costello, Kate Duffy, Hollie Kelly, Leah Kelly, Shannon Masterson, Annabelle Pawluk.

St Joseph’s NS, Rathwire panel: Lily Tyrrell, Maria Pohmelnih, Saibhe Quinn, Holly Desmond, Keira Gawkowska, Muireann Lawlor, Chloe Geoghegan, Kayleigh Meyer, Isobel Cooney, Zoe Oliver-Cogan, Hannah Dunne, Alexa Reddan, Aoife Quinn, Eva Roca, Ciara Tifft, Amelie O’Gorman, Ciara Maher, Kourtney Ledwith, Jessica Glynn, Pola Niwak, Ava Ayres.

Ref: Antoinette Savage (Crookedwood).