COOKIES ON Westmeath Examiner

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Westmeath Examiner website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.


Westmeath takes two top awards at Pride of Place Awards Ceremony

Sunday, 3rd December, 2017 8:44pm

Westmeath takes two top awards at Pride of Place Awards Ceremony

Representatives from Fore receive their Special Award at the Co-operation Ireland/Irish Public Bodies Pride of Place Awards Ceremony 2017. Included are Dr Christopher Moran, chairman Co-operation Ireland; Tom Dowling, chairperson, Pride of Place; Cathaoirleach of Donegal County Council, Cllr Gerry M

Fore wins special award

The winners of the IPB Pride of Place Awards in association with Co-operation Ireland were announced last night at a gala awards ceremony in Letterkenny. The awards acknowledge the achievements and the work undertaken by volunteers and those involved in community development.

Fore picked up one of the Special Awards announced. The judges said this was “a tiny village with a great heart, where the skills and talents of the informed are channelled to the great benefit of the whole community and the spirit of the Meitheal is truly demonstrated”.

Brawny Housing Estate, Athlone, achieved a runner-up award in category nine, for housing estates.

During the ceremony 49 awards were announced in the main competition, the cities competition and special awards, ranging from groups supporting small rural communities to those involved in large inner city housing estates. 
Donegal County Council hosted the evening and celebrated Irish musicians Donal Lunney and Paddy Glackin entertained the audience before the winners were announced. RTÉ presenter Aengus MacGrianna was MC for the ceremony, which was attended by 800 people.

Sponsored by IPB Insurance, the Pride of Place competition was initiated 15 years ago through a Co-operation Ireland programme to acknowledge the work undertaken by communities and groups across Ireland. It has grown into the largest competition recognising community development achievements.

The winners were presented with their awards by Minister Joe McHugh TD, government chief whip and Minister of State for Gaeilge, An Ghaeltacht and the Islands, cathaoirleach of Donegal County Council, Cllr Gerry McMonagle, Dr Christopher Moran, chairman Co-operation Ireland, Michael McGreal, vice-chair, IPB Insurance, and Tom Dowling, chairperson, Pride of Place Committee.

Post a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus