COOKIES ON Westmeath Examiner

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Westmeath Examiner website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.


Lough Lene Gaels are looking for your vote...

Thursday, 12th October, 2017 12:20pm

Lough Lene Gaels are looking for your vote...

Westmeath’s Tommy Doyle comforts Meath’s Damian Healy, after the Lake County defeated the Royals in round three of the Leinster SHC in May. The photograph, captured by Sportsfile photographer Piaras Ó Mídheach, has been nominated by Doyle’s club, Lough Lene Gaels, for EirGrid's ‘Moments in Time’ com

EirGrid, the state-owned company that manages and operates Ireland’s national grid, this year launched the ‘EirGrid Moments in Time’ campaign as part of its timing partnership with the GAA.

The campaign encouraged GAA fans to share their favourite GAA ‘Moments in Time’ on Facebook or Instagram using the #EirGridGAA and tagging their GAA club.

Be it an image captured of a fan watching their county lift the Sam Maguire or Liam MacCarthy cup for the first time, or having the pre-match chats over breakfast, EirGrid saw it all and want to thank everyone for their fantastic entries.

In the case of Westmeath, a photograph nominated by Lough Lene Gaels Hurling Club is in the running for the Leinster category: a shot of clubman Tommy Doyle comforting Meath’s Damian Healy after Westmeath’s Leinster SHC round three win over the Royals at TEG Cusack Park in May. The moment was captured by photographer Piaras Ó Mídheach of Sportsfile.

This competition came to close on September 18 after Dublin claimed the All-Ireland final title for the third time in a row and a shortlist of 12 entries, three from each province have been selected.

To vote for Lough Lene Gaels to win an EirGrid digital clock and scoreboard for their club, go onto and cast your vote by liking their entry.

One club from each province will be selected at midday on Monday October 16.

Post a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus