COOKIES ON Westmeath Examiner

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Westmeath Examiner website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.


The people's choice: have your say on final positions

Story by Tom Kelly

Thursday, 22nd November, 2012 10:30am

The people's choice: have your say on final positions

Westmeath Camogie All-Stars: our selection of half-forwards and full-forwards.

Following on from our first year of sponsoring Westmeath's senior camogie championship, we at the Westmeath Examiner are asking all camogie supporters to vote for their choices as to who should make up Westmeath camogie's dream team for 2012. Our team of judges - who have had their eyes fixed on club camogie competition in Westmeath since April - are publishing their shortlist of top choices in various positions: goalkeepers (our top three), full backs (9), half backs (9), midfielders (6), half forwards (9) and full forwards (9). Then it will be up to you - camogie supporters, and members of the public - to vote for your top choices by text message. Before the end of the year, your top 15 will be revealed, and will be recognised and rewarded as the inaugural Westmeath Examiner Camogie All- Stars. We will also be announcing the identity of our player and young player of the year, which will be decided by our judging panel. Voting for the All-Stars selection is open to everyone, but members and supporters of camogie clubs around the county are especially encouraged to have their say on who should occupy the various positions.

<strong>The final shortlist</strong>

This week, we're concluding our selection with the forwards, and your top choices will occupy these crucial six positions in our team of the year. With our shortlist at its end, finalists Lough Lene Gaels lead the way with 11 nominations, with champions Raharney on eight. Cullion have six nominations, with Clonkill on five. St Munna's and Castletown-geoghegan have four each. The other clubs with nominated players are junior champions Crookedwood (3), Delvin (2), junior finalists Brownstown (1) and junior semi-finalists Drumraney (1). To vote for your chosen forward(s) (pictured above), simply text the relevant code (CAMOGIE followed by the correct number) to 57199.

<strong>A reminder of the last fortnight's nominees</strong>


Fiona Keating (Cullion, CAMOGIE 1)

Celeste Dermody (lough lene gaels, CAMOGIE 2)

Denise Egan (St Munna's, CAMOGIE 3)


Aoife Martin (Cullion, CAMOGIE 4)

Eileen Murphy (Cullion, CAMOGIE 5)

Jemma Egan (Lough Lene Gaels, CAMOGIE 6)

Sinead Lynch (Lough Lene Gaels, CAMOGIE 7),

Jacinta goonery (Raharney, CAMOGIE 8),

Sandra greville (Raharney, CAMOGIE 9),

Bridget leavy (St Munna's, CAMOGIE 10),

Avril Kane (Castletown-geoghegan, CAMOGIE 11),

leah Dunne (Clonkill, CAMOGIE 12).

Please note that lines have closed for our selection of goalkeepers and full backs.


Liz Shaw (Raharney, CAMOGIE 13),

Andreanna Doyle (Raharney, CAMOGIE 14),

Aoife Higgins (Lough Lene Gaels, CAMOGIE 15),

Aisling Conaty (Lough Lene Gaels, CAMOGIE 16),

Laura Hannon (Castletown-geoghegan, CAMOGIE 17),

Caroline Kelly (Clonkill, CAMOGIE 18),

Kate Clune (St Munna's, CAMOGIE 19),

Róisín Scally (Crookedwood, CAMOGIE 20),

Niamh Barry (Delvin, CAMOGIE 21)


Elaine Finn (Raharney, CAMOGIE 22)

Dinah loughlin (Clonkill, CAMOGIE 23)

Avril Fagan (Lough Lene Gaels, CAMOGIE 24)

Aoife McCormack (Drumraney, CAMOGIE 25)

Ciara Corcoran (Castletown-geoghegan, CAMOGIE 26)

Aileen Martin (Cullion, CAMOGIE 27)

Please note that lines close on Tuesday, November 27, 2012 for our selection of half backs and midfielders.

<strong>Terms and conditions</strong>

Text line available in the Republic of Ireland only. 57199 messages cost €1. SMS entry requires one message to be delivered. Max 30 entries per mobile number per day. Standard network charges apply. Lines close at midnight on Tuesday, November 27, 2012 for numbers 13-27 inclusive. Lines close at midnight on Tuesday, December 11, 2012 for numbers 28-45 inclusive. Winner will be announced after voting has completed for all positions on Tuesday, December 11, 2012. You may receive promotional SMS in future. To opt out text STOP to 57199. Helpline BDC 0818286600.

Post a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus