Seventeen community alert schemes launched since January

Seventeen community crime prevention programmes have been launched in Westmeath since just the start of this year, Minister Alan Shatter has informed Deputy Nicky McFadden.

There are now, the minister continued, 89 such programmes operating around Westmeath.

Deputy McFadden asked at Dáil Éireann level for figures on the number of community alert and neighbourhood watch programmes that have been established so far in 2013.

Minister Shatter responded by stating that in January of this year, he joined with the garda commissioner in launching new community crime prevention programmes guidelines, designed to support and advise on the establishment and operation of Community Alert, Neighbourhood Watch and similar local crime prevention initiatives.

He said the new schemes in Westmeath are in the following areas: Mullingar District - The Downs, Clonlost, Rathowen, Raharney, Multyfarnham, Drumraney, Tyrrellspass, Brookfield Estate, Royal Canal Estate, and St Brigid’s Terrace; Athlone District - Mount Temple, Kiltoom, Tang, Tubberclair, Castledaly and Rosemount.