Davitt's arrival in Senate means Westmeath now has 9 Oireachtas members


In a phenomenal outcome, Westmeath can now boast of having nine Oireachtas members – seven local, and two based in other parts of the country.

Added to the list of four Westmeath TDs were, this week, three senators – Aidan Davitt (FF), Paul Daly (FF), and Gabrielle McFadden (FG).

Also elected to the senate from Westmeath, was Paul Gavan (SF), now living in Castleconnell in  Limerick but originally from Fore.

Making up “The Nine” is Kate O’Connell, a native of Kilbeggan, who won a Dáil seat for Fine Gael in Dublin Bay South.  

All four senators are new to the Seanad.